Giveaway Announcement and a Hacked Orla

As many of you will already know the winner of the Bloggiversary Giveaway was: Lynsey of Lynsey Makes

Congratulations to you Lynsey  and I’ll be in contact soon. She wins this lovely bundle: thank you again to Sheona at Sewisfaction for donating the gorgeous fabric. 

Thank you so so much to everyone who supported this. I was so overwhelmed with the amount of kind and supportive comments I had. Let’s hope it can be even bigger next year! 

Anyway, back to what I do best… The blog. 

Today’s make a a very hacked version of the French Navy Orla Dress. It actually looks nothing like an Orla Dress anymore. I find the pattern a really good block to change around so I’ll talk you through what I did. 

I used this gorgeous Cotton Lawn that I got in a Fabric Swap at Sew Up North, I’m really pleased that I’ve hardly stashed anything I got from Sew Up North. I’ve been slowly working my way through them. I made a collage of the fabrics and I’ve been updated it with my makes on instagram so you can see the fabrics I have used! 

Anyway, the pattern -I extended the bodice to curve round and make a top. I used another pattern to make some darts and treated it as a T-shirt. 

I then lowered the back neckline to above my bra strap by putting a bra on my Suzie Dressmaker doll and pinning it when it wanted it to sit. I then used the fabric to make two long straps (so therapeutic!) and pinned them to either side of the back neckline before attaching the bias binding. I think it adds a really cool feature. 

Finally, I lengthened the sleeves to three quarter length and attached them. There isn’t a lot of gather in the sleeves of the Orla which I really like. There you have it; I have a casual, comfy top with an added detail which I love. 

I will definitely use the Orla to create more personal garments. These may be some of the last pictures from my holiday, which makes me sad but it’s such a beautiful place for them. At least it means not more pictures of me in shorts for you lovely people! 

I also wore it for my first ever vlog which has also been really well supported so thanks so much, you can find my channel here.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. corrineappleby says:

    Oh bugger. I mean well done Lyndsey 😉😉. Love your Orla top. Particularly the back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry 😦 it was well worth winning. I am thinking of doing another smaller one because I’m nearly at 1000 following me on instagram! Thanks so much, I’m really happy with it. It just adds something a bit different. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this orla hack x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it’s such a great pattern to hack but I’m returning to the original for a make this week. ☺ x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynsey_makes says:

    I’m so chuffed !!! Love this top, you’ve done an awesome hack and I love the back with the tie, great job 👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw good. I can’t wait for you to get it. Thanks so much.

      Like

  4. Wow the back on this looks great 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It was a really simple little hack but I love the effect. ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

