Firm Favourite to Fix a Fail 

I know, I know another Moneta but I was in serious need of a pick-me-up! I tried and MASSIVELY failed to sew a Mimi Blouse from Tilly’s Love at First Stitch and it was a nightmare. I had this beautiful Spanish looking fabric in orange and pictured a lovely, bright blouse but it wasn’t to be. The yoke is too high up. I added piping as she suggests in the book but it made it stiff and awkward, the sleeves were too small and the top it off, the actual blouse was too, even though lots of people warned it would have a lot of ease. To make matters worse, it was supposed to be my last make before my holidays and 2 weeks away from my machine so I felt really unsatisfied. 

All good intentions doomed. 😦

And so my friends, I was consoled… By this amazing fabric and the super quick Moneta

It really was super quick. Literally the night before we went on our holidays, knowing I would be without machine and determined to leave on a high, I grabbed this jersey recently added to my stash, the trusty Moneta pattern and cut! 

I sewed it together with the speed of a mad woman and had the whole dress complete, including the consideration of the pattern placement, in an hour. 

I made the following changes; I lengthened the skirt to mid calf, like my Galaxy one. I was hoping for a maxi hack but I didn’t have enough fabric. I wanted to include the amazing colours at the bottom of the fabric in the skirt and I think calf length suits this dress. I lowered the back slightly. I also discounted the pockets (no time for that). 

That’s it! The moneta has been so crucial in getting over my fear of sewing with jersey- I only wish I would now step away from the Moneta and try some new Jersey patterns as was intended for this fabric!!! 

I wore this on my holiday on a trip to Beadnell Bay where we watched the fishing boats come in and took in the views. A perfect dress for that I think! 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Lesley says:

    I attempted the Mimi blouse twice and got so frustrated with it I chucked the book on a shelf and haven’t touched it since. But your Moneta is a joy to behold

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I could look at it again, it didn’t work at all. I’m going to look in to other blouse patterns once I’ve got over the trauma!! Thanks, I love this fabric.

      Like

  2. I haven’t made a Moneta yet and seeing yours (and your lovely galaxy one) has made me want to have a go! Thanks so much for the inspiration, I really enjoy your blog posts X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. That’s really kind. I really recommend it. I find it really flexible. If you try it, keep in mind that I always add an inch to the inner shoulder otherwise you end up seeing your bra straps! x

      Like

  3. Lynsey says:

    Such a shame that your mimi didn’t work especially when it’s great fabric! But your moneta is fabulous, great print and placement and sp pleased your went on a high 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was gutted. I’m not going to be able to save it at all either. Never mind. I’m so grateful it worked out. I would’ve hated to have left it with that, it wouldn’t have done much for me sewjo! 😁

      Like

  4. Angie says:

    Wow, what a stunning dress! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m really pleased with this one. ☺

      Like

  5. Hi Emma, I know exactly how you feel about your Mimi blouse….I made mine with best Liberty lawn, and it came out massive even though Tilly patterns usually fit me great. I put tucks in the shoulders, and now the facing doesn’t sit right at all. I wear it but gnash my teeth every time I put it on! So you’re not alone! On the upside though, you ended up with a fabulous Moneta dress! It looks really lovely on you, and was the perfect choice for that gorgeous fabric print x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It makes me feel so much better that I’m not the only one. Mine wouldn’t have been wearable at all. I know, it was such a lovely print that even though I shouldn’t be repeating even more Monetas, I couldn’t help myself! I’m really pleased with this one though. x

      Like

  6. Love the print on your moneta. I’ve made one mimi blouse and not happy with it. It’s so large at the neck it won’t sit right and I keep thinking about adding darts or something to get a better fit. It’s frustrating as most Tilly and the buttons patterns are well drafted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes me feel so much better to know that others have struggled too. It made me feel like I’d gone back to the early days where pretty much everything was wrong! It is unusual, I like her patterns and I love my Delphine Skirt. I definitely need to find a go to blouse pattern. Thanks for your comments as always. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t got any fitted shirts in my wardrobe. I have the valley blouse from sew my style challenge and an Anderson blouse. I made the Ella blouse but didn’t get on with that, the arms don’t give me enough movement. Maybe I’m not a shirt person 😆

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve made the Anderson too but it’s too short to wear to not tucker in. I struggled with the Ella too but got it right the second time. I’m thinking I’ll try the Suzie blouse next. ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  7. esewing says:

    Glad you were able to pull out this triumph after your disappointment, is part of the sewing journey, am sure your next blouse will be fab , looking forward to seeing it ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m not going to try the Mimi again I don’t think. I’m after another blouse pattern to try!

      Like

      1. esewing says:

        Gosh no you can’t go back there , choose again and will be amazing 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

