An Orla Affair

The Orla Dress by French Navy caught my eye as part of a Sewing challenge for Orla Month #anorlaaffair organised by the lovely Maddie of Maddie Made This, alongside RachelAnya and Allie which encourages you to make up the Orla Dress.

I love a good sewing challenge because it does just that, it challenges you to try something else and gives you a reason to sew when all the other reasons (as we know there are many) aren’t kick-starting you sew-jo. It also inspires and promotes conversation in the Sewing community. Sign me up! The ladies who won were so deserving and I loved their makes. 

So… I printed the pattern straight away and was giving the fabric some thought. Then as I was putting the PDF together (so simple by the way) I remember this amazing Crane fabric by Emily Burningham which I got on my last visit to my favourite Northumbrain shop. So I cut that out straight away.

IMG_20170704_195103_587

I was worried that the sizing wouldn’t be right for me so I graded it out slightly and I also lowered the front darts by an inch as many have recommended on social media. 

I later realised that I have probably graded a little to much to account for my FBA so rather than recut it, I added a small pleat along the neckline with I feel has added a bit more shape anyway! 

It comes together really quickly and it really satisfying. I didn’t have lots of fabric to work with so I made the skirt pieces a little smaller so I didn’t do as much gathering to the skirt as perhaps I should but it worked out I feel. I do prefer a bit more fullness if I can get it though! 

I used this dress and my opportunity to have a slow sewing day to get my zip insertions practiced! I’m so pleased with it. 

I finally finished it with a contrast bias binding, which,  believe it or not, I bought especially so that it would contrast! That’s it- a really easy make. I’m going to make another in a polyester style silk feel fabric I think. 

I wore this to Manchester to meet with my lovely friends and really enjoyed wearing it. 

I’ve since massively hacked it and made a top so look out for that soon! 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. chasjos says:

    You really got a knack at finding the most amazing fabrics! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s gorgeous isn’t it? She has some amazing fabrics in the shop I visit, I will be going again next week. How is the book coming along?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. chasjos says:

        I finished the last corrections on Sunday, and it’s due for the 15th of September!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Brilliant! Good luck with it all. ☺

        Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Love this on you Emma, great colour and shape.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. The skirt isn’t as flared as I would like because of fabric restrictions but I quite like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. craftysurf says:

    Great pattern and fit- very flattering 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. I wasn’t sure. I thought maybe the waistline was a little low but consensus seems to be otherwise!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It looks lovely! The fabric you chose is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I really do love this fabric, it was one of those that I didn’t want to cut in to!! 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

