NOT Me Made Appleton Dress

I saw the hand made dress swap on Instagram a while back and eagerly awaited the date for applications. It’s an initiative where you sign up, fill in a form about you and they kindly pair you up with someone to make a dress for. I signed up straight away and got paired up with the lovely Lhizz from New Zealand. We emailed back and forth about styles and decided on patterns for each other but that was all we knew about what the other was making. If you’ve thought about signing up but didn’t, I absolutely recommend it. It’s great to be involved in and a fab way to meet fellow sewers!

On the application, it asks what colours you like and I put brights but not pink (eurgh! – least favourite by far!) so Lhizz had lots of colours to chose from and I think she has chosen an amazing fabric.

The Appleton, made by Cashmerette is tailored to curvy girls, which is why Lhizz chose it, I think. I love a wrap dress but I have never braved one myself. Lhizz told me that she refashions more than she sews from scratch so I was impressed that she went for a style that I have avoided so far. Not for much longer though because she kindly included the pattern in my parcel so I will be definitely making another. I have a plain blue jersey I’ll try it in. I’ve never made a pattern by them but the dress fits so well, I’ll definitely be giving more of theirs a try!

I have taken lots of pictures in this amazing dress because Lhizz did such an amazing job. The finish is gorgeous. I love the facings along the neckline, they’re so neat.

DSC_1046
Apologies for the blatant boobie shot but I wanted to show off the facings!

It’s a proper wrap dress too, not a mock one so it goes right round me, without needing a vest, which is pretty impressive. She’s got the length just right too. What I’m most impressed with is that way the hem is lined up absolutely straight. I would have struggled to get where the wrap meets to line up, especially in a stretch fabric. She has obviously put a lot of hard work in and I’m absolutely made up with it. I love wearing it, knowing it came from around the world and I’m always secretly hoping that someone will ask if I made it so I can bore them to death about how it came all the way from New Zealand!!

IMG_20170616_064720_918_20170630_073929DSC_1043_20170630_074000_20170630_074034IMG_20170621_071050_731

I joined the swap thinking of what I would make the whole time, trying to get the shape, Fabric and size right so I never gave much thought to the dress I was getting in return. As a result, when I got my package I was beyond excited, it was like it had just dawned on me that someone had been thinking of me and doing the same from across the world and it felt so special. Not only had Lhizz made me the lovely dress, but she had included the pattern, as I said and also a nice postcard. We have been chatting back and forward and I told her about my forays in to crochet so she also crocheted me this really cool black hat, perfect for the windy beach on my holidays. It was such a pleasure to receive and it made my week.

IMG_20170607_210855_843_20170616_064543

I’ll share what I made for Lhizz in return soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Simona says:

    I really have to keep my eyes open for something like this. Your dress looks really nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I can’t wait to try it for myself.! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Naomi says:

    Looks amazing on you! Go kiwi Lhizz!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. I know, she did a great job didn’t she?!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. chasjos says:

    Fits you beautifully!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

