Liberty Block Dress

I’m not one to go crazy for Liberty, I can appreciate it’s loveliness but I’m not too upset if I can’t have it in my life. However, when I saw some remnants going cheaply, I, of course, picked some up. I didn’t have enough to make anything substantial with so I was thinking maybe pockets, make up bags etc… That was until I was planning to make Threadcount 1501 (which was free with Love Sewing Magazine once upon a time) with the fabric I bought from the Sewing for Pleasure Show and I realised that it has an option to do a block skirt. 

There’s been many sneak peeks of this on instagram because I tried to enjoy it and sew it slowly. 

Some of the pieces I had fit the pattern pieces absolutely perfectly and I enjoyed the process of playing around with the order and deciding which colours would look best together. This is such a joy with these fabrics because they have so much colour and detail. I picked out the blues in the fabrics and bought a plain cotton in a Cornflower blue for the bodice.
I made the skirt up first and enjoyed the easy process of joining the pieces.  I love the shape of it, it has small pleats at the top and gathering to make it a nice shape. I was really pleased with the way the seams matched up too. It’s made me feel that I could confidently use more remnant pieces to make garments.

IMG_20170521_165843_852

I then moved on to my bodice, I cut the front and side pieces slightly larger to account for my FBA and should’ve made the sleeves slightly bigger too. This is something I usually remember to do to account for my chunky arms, but I forgot and as a result the arms are a little tighter than I would like. Again, I was so pleased with the way it all lined up, the princess seams and the pleats met perfectly at the front and the darts met the pleats at the back. I was really pleased with this because I think it shows that my accuracy is really improving.

I hemmed it in red thread and used a bias binding on the neckline as I do as often as I can get away with. I inserted the zip, though I’m a bit disappointed with myself because I chickened out of trying a proper invisible zip again. I really need to learn how to do them…

Anyway I wore this to our favourite restaurant on our holidays with my trusty wrap cardigan and light blue heels. It made me feel really girly but without being too frilly (I hope so anyway, frills and frou frou are not my thing!)

I love the style of it and I can’t wait to make my next one which will have a royal purple bodice with a water colour city scene skirt! I love this fabric. 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Chic Mona says:

    I so adore this. Bravo on the bodice! The skirt piecing looks a bit retro which is lovely with your liberty fabric. Thanks for including the link. I may give it a go. I’m sure the next one will be just as lovely with those fabric pieces too. Happy Sewing.~cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I do love the block, I love a brain wave like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chic Mona says:

    oh, FYI the pattern is no longer available 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no. It was when I was writing it. πŸ˜” it’s like they knew. I’m really sorry. I’ll do a quick edit now. How disappointing. πŸ˜” x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Naomi says:

    Great make Emma. For a good invisible zip tutorial I recommend this:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmsA7PLCcTs Hope it helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot Naomi x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a lovely dress on you Em. Really beautiful. Great use of colours and you look stunning! Love the shoes too 😍 Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m really pleased with this one. ☺ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lifewithmrst says:

    Gorgeous dress, I love it. I love seeing all your outfits xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. That’s so kind xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

