Breezy Birdy Tee

Me Made May has been so good to identify gaps in my wardrobe. It has become very apparent that I don’t have many separates. I am definitely a dress kind of girl but I don’t wear dresses all the time and I definitely need more casual separates in my life. 

With this in mind, I embarked on Mccalls M6927. It’s a pattern I got free with Sew Style although it only goes up to a size 16, it allows for different cup sizes which is where I usually need a bigger size. So I cut the biggest cup option and graded it up slightly so it was more like an 18. I made view C, which is really basic and exactly what I needed. 

I made it using this lovely turquoise with bird shapes on it, which was an absolute bargain from The Textile Centre. The pattern is levelled at easy and it really was. As I usually do if I can get away with it, I opted for bias neckline rather than a facing and I used it on the hems of the sleeves and on the bottom hem too. 

It was that quick to sew, that I really don’t know why I don’t have more separates like this in my life!! It’s a really easy top to throw on with jeans, perfect for my chilled holidays. 
I like it that much that I immediately decided to make another using some fabric from a bundle I am reviewing for Minerva Crafts. You’ll see it soon I hope. As there are so many options and different ways to change this top up, I can’t see it becoming a firm favourite.

I wore it with my RTW shorts and it was made just in time for my holidays to Bamburgh and the end of Me Made May! 

I convince Kyle to do some jumping pics
There’s a castle behind my head!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Annette says:

    I love this, Emma! The birds are adorable!! MMM taught me that I need more dresses, so I’ll be looking through yours for inspiration. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’m pleased with it. Well I certainly make plenty so enjoy! 😁 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a lovely top, you’ll be getting a lot of wear out of something that pretty and comfortable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping so. I’ve already had it on twice! Just what I needed in my wardrobe!

      Like

  3. Naomi says:

    Super cute!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

