Me Made May Final Week

Day Twenty-seven: finally, my half term holiday arrived. I was so ready for this break. Me and my husband set off early and make good time to get to sunny Bamburgh. Whilst it was nice, we had a potter round and I wore my new Mccalls m6927 with RTW shorts. I’ll blog about this one soon because it’s definitely got potential to be a favourite!

Day twenty-eight: this one is a bit of a spoiler because it’s another Mccalls M6927. (told you it was going to be a favourite) but it’s a review of a fabric Bundle for Minerva Crafts so I can’t share too much here. I can easily make up for it with pictures of the Vintage Sewing Machine that my husband bought me from the Bamburgh fair. The wheel spins but the foot doesn’t work… I don’t care though, it’s so pretty and I can’t wait to put it in my sewing space! We had such an amazing morning and got ourselves a new wall clock and a ceramic olive dish too! 

Day twenty-nine: I wore my latest and probably one of my favourite makes. My Liberty Tana Lawn Dragonista Ultimate Shift Top which I hacked to have plackets down the back. 

We had a lovely day out in Alnwick and to the Village Tea Rooms and Emporium, which I can’t not visit! I got some gorgeous fabrics. The top one is a gorgeous children’s interior fabric destined for cushions as a gift. Bottom left is a Pierre Frey from 2013 which I absolutely fell in love with even though I don’t have any plans for it yet and the bottom right is Emily Burningham Cotton Lawn ‘Cranes Book III’ I’m hoping to make a blouse from this one. They’re all such high quality. I can’t wait to use them!

Day thirty: me and Kyle went to our favourite restaurant and I wore my New Liberty Threadcount 1501 which was free with Love Sewing Magazine and you can still download for free if you click the link. I made version B which was the block option in a cornflower blue cotton and liberty fabric blocks for the skirt. I’ll blog this next week so look out for it because it really is a beauty (even if I say do myself!) 

Day thirty-one: I wore my Mccalls M6927 again for the journey home. I was very sad to be leaving and I’m surprised at how sad I feel that Me Made May is over. Though I’m not sure I’ll miss early morning photos! 

To summarise: My Me Made May pledge was to wear something I had made everyday and see the gaps in my wardrobe. I was very nearly successful, with a few sick days highlighting that I have no PJs made for myself even though half my family have PJs I’ve made. Many repeats of the same casual tops and an overuse of dresses for work has highlighted that I need more blouses. So that’s my plan for now and hopefully come next year I will see a huge difference! 

I have also been able to donate some of my more dowdy and dull RTW work clothes as I much prefer my brighter me-mades! 

Lastly, I recently wrote about a craft swap with the lovely Charlotte of Chasjos from France. She writes a blog about the wooden jewellery she makes. Here’s a reminder of the amazing Mermaid piece she made. 

Anyway, I made her a Moneta in return (I’m sure you are all surprised) because I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about the fit too much. I even broke out my high school French (checked by the French teachers at work) to write a note for her. I’ve still got it!  It arrived with Charlotte last week and she’s since wrote a post about it. The dress look fabulous on her and is a great fit. I’ll definitely be getting involved in one of her swaps again! 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. chasjos says:

    That adorable little sewing machine!! Can’t you get it fixed? And those fabrics you found are very beautiful, the one for childrens interior, is magic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I’m so pleased with it. I hope so, my husband is going to look in to it for me. I’m really pleased with the fabrics too. It’s going to make some lovely cushions, with grey piping round the edge I’m hoping. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chic Mona says:

    What a fabulous find at the fair! Love your Liberty make. Thanks for sharing.~cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’m really pleased with it. I’ve got it home and it looks great. The dress made me feel really pretty. I have another one of the same pattern with a purple bodice and a water colour scene skirt… x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

