Me Made May Week 2

Day Eight:

I wore a self-drafted skirt (to be honest most of my skirts are self-drafted because I find that you can make a skirt however you want it then) I put this together using Vintage fabric from my visit to the Village Tea Rooms and Emporium back in February. I made it to go out for my Mother-in-law’s 60th on a bit of a whim. I love it for how bright it is and you may see this recycled next week with a different top but for now I’ve style it with my favourite RTW black top which I would love to be able to replicate because its getting old and isn’t going to last much longer I feel. Any tips would be appreciated on this one!

Day nine: Today was a bit of a fed up day, in a bid to feel a bit brighter I wore a white RTW blouse which my husband bought me for a job interview and has a lovely fit. The Skirt is one I refashioned last year after making New Look 6020 which was my first ever sewing pattern, bought by my Mum. It wasn’t quite right around my chest and didn’t have sleeves so I unpicked it, drafted a waistband and make it in to a skirt. It’s a bit clingy though, I have fabric and a pattern with the intention of making a slip… maybe I could do with getting round to it!

_20170509_080613

IMG_20170509_074812_053

Day Ten: I wore my Tilly and the Buttons Zadie Dress which is one of my most recent makes. I don’t love this one… I think it’s because I had so many problems with the construction… more on this here. Every time I wear it people say how nice it is and when I look at pictures I’m always pleased with it but there’s something in the back of my head which says it’s not my favourite! does anyone else get that? I made it out of Scuba from Fabric Styles who I did a video for if you haven’t seen it already.

IMG_20170510_070239_796

_20170510_070356

Day Eleven:

I wore my plain Moneta, which is a light purple/grey type of colour. The changes I made with this one was to shorten it slightly (not sure if I regret that) and to do a neckband instead of turning the fabric over. I absolutely love the Moneta pattern, as I’m sure you know… I appear to have a bit of a reputation for them! I have another two on my to-do list; A navy one with a contrast skirt and a stripe one. I just love the pattern and think it lends itself to my shape. It’s easy to do and a good way to practice sewing with stretch. I wasn’t sure if it was smart enough for work but I went with it anyway and was super comfy all day long!!

IMG_20170511_071447_736_20170511_091310

Day Twelve: Today I wore my Cotton and Chalk Katie Dress which I made some time a go. I have a fashion rule (I don’t have many of these) that I only wear black tights in months with an R in them so I have been wearing nude tights… today was the first time I went bare legged, and, of course, it rained! Anyway This dress is in a ponte, which meant I didn’t put a zip in it, it’s super comfy and practical. It was another Cotton and chalk pattern that I really struggled to fit because it has so much ease!

Day Thirteen:

For a chilled Saturday I wore my Cotton and Chalk Sunday Set. I love this pattern, I find all the Cotton and Chalk ones to have lots of ease but this one is perfect! I wear it all the time. I’ve since tried the trouser version of it but I wasn’t so sure. I wore it with a RTW Navy Body. 

Day Fourteen:

I wore my trusty elephant print Moneta  for a casual Sunday. As you know this pattern is one of my favourites and I love how easy it is to throw on! I’ve had a change of scenery this weekend as I’m looking after the lovely Theo for a week for my Sister-in-law. 

I have worn a cardigan with nearly everything I have worn this week and I think I seriously need to have a think about making my own… Maybe my new-found skills in crochet could help me with that…

I also definitely need more blouses and tops and I’m currently working on it! 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. corrineappleby says:

    Great makes this week! I know exactly what you mean about makes not being your favourite (that Zadie dress looks great on you from here). I’ve got two dresses that fit that bill – my one and only Moneta dress (you seem to get on with that pattern just fine!) and my Cami dress by Pauline Alice. I get complimented when I wear them but there are things about them that just bug me. And they both have gathered waists which I don’t think is really me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I know, it’s strange isn’t it? I’m always do grateful for a gathered waist!! But it isn’t for everyone!! Xx

      Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Smashing it Emma! Boom!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susie says:

    I also like the Zadie dress but day thirteen is my favourite of your outfits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I love my Dungaree Dress! I wear it a lot. 😁

      Like

  4. Memademay always helped me figure out what my wardrobe was missing. You are building a lovely wardrobe there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes, it’s really helping. My me mades are more colourful too I’m finding!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

