Shift Dress Addiction

Sorry to be predictable but I’m in love (again). The shift dress, in theory, goes against everything which suits my style… I need garments which give me a waist and nip me in a bit so shift dresses aren’t my usual style as they don’t have a great deal of shape in them.

However, The Ultimate Shift Dress from Sew Over It seems to have won me over. I made one for my Mum for Christmas as I knew it would suit her shape. She loves it and I think it is really elegant. It lent itself really well to a thick fabric, which was almost an upholstery fabric.

dsc_0162.jpg

I then tried one for myself on a whim, I suspected I would need a FBA with this one because of the shape so I looked up how to do it. It was the first time I had ever made any changes like this and it worked a treat! I definitely needed it and I also had to make the sleeves bigger by an inch to accommodate it.

wp-image-871031828jpg.jpg

I made it using an embroidered denim and I love it. I feel like the fit is really good and it doesn’t matter that it has a straight shape as I have lots of belts!

I went on to make a shorter version in a tartan as I wanted something a bit more casual to wear. I shortened it and added little splits at the sides to made it more like a tunic. Unusually, I made it sleeveless but I’m still happy with it. I used a vintage bias binding instead of the facings for this one. The FBA has worked a treat and I know that this can be a go to pattern now. I wore it on the first Sunday of Me Made May. Whilst I love them both, they are not very summery so I need to have a look at different styles.

With summer wardrobes in mine I’ve used the pattern to cut the top version out of this fabulous Liberty fabric called Dragonista, which I have been lusting over for ages. I’m so happy I have some! I want some more tops and blouses, on the back of me Me Made May pledge so this is one step towards it. I have hacked it slightly so look out for more on that too… I’m also going to try it in a scuba, as I love the scuba I used for my Zadie dress so much that I’m keen to use some more and I suspect the Shift Dress will work well with this fabric too!

IMG_20170415_101233_502

15 Comments Add yours

  1. crusicroom says:

    I have been watching you tube videos today on FBA’s as I think I will need to give them a go. Great looking dresses

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’ll scan the article for you and email it to you if you like? x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. crusicroom says:

        That would be great Thank you. Shall I DM you on Insta? I’m all a bit new to this! X

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah that’s a good idea. Do that and I’ll scan it and send it on Monday. 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      3. crusicroom says:

        Lovely Thank you 😊x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. craftysurf says:

    They look great! Can’t wait to see one in SCUBA material 🤙

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Naomi says:

    Nice work Emma! You are owning the TNT pattern category! Looking forward to seeing the livery and scuba made up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’ve finished my top now and I’ve got it on! Blog next week hopefully 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I love the border print the best – it is so difficult to find border print sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a good metre of this left too! And it was a bargain!! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Shift dresses suit you so well! Great versions and variety of looks. Scuba one should look interesting and exciting! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ellegeemakes says:

    I love both versions but that border print is so cool! Love this look on you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. ☺ I do love it. It’s a bit heavy for spring /summer though so it’s on the wardrobe till next year.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

