A Selfish Craft Swap 

I’m writing a blog post with a bit of a twist today. If you’ve seen the pictures, you’ll soon realise that this isn’t fabric or dressmaking (though I couldn’t resist running up a quick skirt!) but an amazing item which I have no talent to make at all! 

It came about when Charlotte of Chasjos asked if anyone would like to do an exchange and swap something she had made, in this case this beautiful handmade wooden mermaid pendant,  for something others can make. I signed up straight away, I love schemes like this and it’s one of the unexpected perks I have found within the crafting /sewing / blogging community. 

Because I have so much on at the minute,  I promised I would make Charlotte something in a month or so and get involved but she was happy to send me the pendant anyway (which is very trusting and kind). 

She makes all sorts of wooden, hand painted pendants like this. She also made this AMAZING one for her sister-in-law, which I’m sure she wouldn’t mind me sharing. 

I don’t follow many blogs which aren’t sewing related but Charlotte’s really caught my eye because the pendants she makes are so beautiful and because she writes in both French and English,  which I think is an amazing skill in itself.

Most of us know what the happy post feeling is like, but this one was super exciting. It was in a gorgeous package and made my day. She included a little note too and I love details like this. 

I would never be able to make anything like this and you see handmade wooden items likes this selling for lots of Etsy, which is what makes a craft swap like this so brilliant. I have something that is genuinely unique and I haven’t bought it! 

I’m making Charlotte a Moneta dress in return (surprise surprise) as she really liked my previous Moneta makes. Plus it’s a pattern with a bit of stretch so it’s a bit easier to fit from France! I will send it to her as soon as I’m done… Here’s the current progress to show my dedication to the project. 

Back to the pendant, which I wore to my Mother-in-law’s 60th birthday meal. I wanted to show it in all it’s glory so apologies for the posey pictures but look at it! Isn’t my little mermaid lovely?! 

It’s so detailed and well thought out, I wouldn’t even know where to start. I think it’s fabulous and I love it! I am so grateful to Charlotte and so pleased I said I would join in. I love this crafting community! 

As for the skirt…. I knew I wanted to wear a black top so of you follow me on instagram you will know that I decided I wanted a skirt that day. So I took this gorgeous vintage fabric I bought on my visit to the Village Tea Room and Emporium in Northumberland and just went with it… I love school holidays! 

I cut it in half, curved the edges in to a skirt shape. Sewed it as a square (ish) and threaded elastic through the waistband (just a double fold at the top of the fabric!). I stitched the elastic in place so nearly all the gather was at the back and added to small pleats down the front. I then sewed bias to the bottom, which is the straightest and neatest I’ve ever done! I was really pleased with it and glad I made the decision to go for it. 

My mother-in-law, in the meantime,  was made up with her Quilt. More on that on Friday. 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the pendant – so pretty and unique! How wonderful! Skirt is ace Em and super quick too! I love that you made it for that evening too. You look gorgeous. Xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much. I know, it’s great, it was literally a piece of fabric at 2 that afternoon!! Haha. Quicker than a trip to the shops!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. chasjos says:

    Lovely skirt, with perfect tatse for the fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. craftysurf says:

    Love that necklace 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. She did a great job!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynsey_makes says:

    Super skirt! Love the fabric 💗 The necklace is gorgeous, so detailed and cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I know, it’s ace isn’t it? x

      Like

Leave a Reply

