Ikea Couture

A few weeks a go I took my niece, Grace out for a coffee* and a girly day out. She wanted to go to Ikea of all places so, of course, being the dedicated Auntie I am we went to Ikea… on a Saturday! Naturally, I headed straight for the fabrics. I’ve never bought any fabric from there (though my Mother-in-Law works there so she has picked me some up before)  – it was great – you just help yourself to the length you want and weigh it! They’re a bargain and have some brilliant designs!

*Please note I don’t actually give my 5 year old niece coffee! we just call it that!

I bought 2 fabrics and decided to focus my attentions on the first one. It was lovely and stiff and I knew it would make for some nice crisp edges so I decided to self-draft a pleated skirt. I cut a simple waistband to my measurements – I didn’t even interface it (I can hear the gasps!) because the fabric is so substantial. Then I cut two long rectangles and measured 2 box pleats in the front and the back and basted. This is similar to my House Skirt I made some time a go but I am a little braver now so did a much chunkier waist-band and much bigger, obvious pleats.

 

I don’t think Suzie has as much as a waist as I do!

I added a metal zip, which I purposefully exposed because I thought it would look really modern and I’m really pleased with the results. I chose to take quite a bit off the hem, which makes it looks really youthful and fun!

I wore this to go to see Lucy Spraggan with my friend, Sam. A gig is not an easy place to take pictures! I teamed it with a red t-shirt but I think it will go with lots of different tops. In fact, I know that it will because I tried loads on before deciding! 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. I love that you drafted this and pleated it. Such a great make. You have a wonderful eye for designing Em truely and I love this cool modern skirt on you. Fabulous make xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m do grateful that I know that I can think of what I would like to make and actually make it! I couldn’t have done that this time last year! X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are growing as a sewer and drafter too which is fabulous! Keep going as it’s working! Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t think I could draft anything else but thanks so much, it all builds up doesn’t it?! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks great. I’ve just come back from ikea today with some cotton fabric to make a dress with. I have another in my wardrobe from 3-4 years ago that still looks great x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve only ever had bits and pieces that my Mother-in-law picked up for me but they have some fabulous patterns! x

      Like

      1. They had a great one, like an African wax print but in lighter cotton but had none left 😣 I got a pretty bold print still…. Thinking of making the elisalex dress with it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I got one that was like a grey African print but it was more canvassy… I was thinking ultimate shift dress but as a top as I made one for my Mum out of a stiffer fabric like that so I know it works!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Look forward to seeing the finished item x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. norma says:

    Looks very good. I think making it up for yourself is one of the best ways of sewing,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I think so… Not that I’m skilled enough to do anything else than a simple skirt but I will definitely draft them over patterns now I know I can do it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well there you go, I always put off going to IKEA when asked, I had no idea they did fabrics. Will shock my cousin next time she asks me to go, especially if they do wonderful bold and bright fabrics. Well done on self drafting looks good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. Yes it’s great, you can cut how much you want and the patterns are great. The often put cut pieces in the bargain corner too. Will look out for how you get on.

      Like

  5. Very cute fabric! Drafted and pleated and zippered… You are doing very well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. An exposed Zipper is a bit of a cheat though, it’s so much easier! I wish they were all like that!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A new invention for me – I haven’t tried one yet! Nicely done though!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynsey Jane says:

    Amazing skirt, love the print! Really wished I lived closer to an IKEA.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s on my in-laws doorstep so it’s great to get to. Not so great that you can see a great big yellow and blue building from every angle where we live!! Every cloud though… 🙂

      Like

  7. corrineappleby says:

    Lovely work! Good old IKEA. I’ve never made clothes out of IKEA fabric though – may have to look into that as it’s so cheap. I love your zip too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, obviously they’re pretty sturdy as they’re more like household fabrics but there’s cotton/linen too. It is cheap, I’ve seen lots of people on instagram use it for toiles and practise.

      Like

  8. esewing says:

    Love this skirt , looks amazing , plan an ikea visit next week , always come out with some fabric , it would be rude not to …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I completely agree!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Such delightful fabric! Your pleated skirt came out so well, nicely done hacks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It’s a great pattern isn’t it? Couldn’t really be used for anything other than a skirt but still, I’m pleased with it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

