Me Made Northumberland 

In a similar way to my me made Dublin post last year I wanted to summarise my me – made holidays. I have not made anywhere near enough clothes to wear me made everyday yet (sad face) but I try to plan a wardrobe which is me-made everyday for my holidays because it gives me an aim and a deadline and it made me feel good on my holidays. 

Any excuse to show the gorgeous Bamburgh Castle!

So, we were, as always,  in beautiful Northumberland staying in the cutest little cottage for 2 called Rose cottage just outside Bamburgh. 

The first day,  Sunday was a proper chilled day for us,  so it called for a sloppy jumper and jeans which were all RTW I’m afraid..  I did however make full use of my cute little sunglasses case in the winter sun. It’s just a rectangle lined in red and folded in half with some wadding between and a little tab. The fabric was a fat quarter from a bundle from hobby craft

Monday we drove inland and visited a vintage and fabric shop,  called Village Tea Rooms and Emporium. I love it so much that I wrote a blog post all about it.  We came across it a few years a go before I knew much about fabric… I was desperate to go back now I knew what I was looking at and it seemed fitting that I wore my Vintage 1970s Maudella Dress

It’s a lovely journey in land and we tried to get some nice bloggy pictures on a gorgeous bridge we passed but this is the best we could do…  It was a little breezy! 

I bought SO MUCH fabric! The lovely Beryl who owns it, was so chatty and just wanted to talk about where all the fabric had come from. There were so many pieces a at £1 each so I went a little crazy (think supermarket sweep!)

I was informed that the grey is ex-designer and it’s such a great quality fabric. I can’t wait to get stitching up. 

You may find me sad but I took my machine with us,  I had to get sewing for the Moneta Party and it relaxes me so why not take it on holiday! I took 2 Monetas because they need minimum pressing.  I cut them and labelled them before we came so I could just enjoy some sewing. Bliss. I used little white sticky notes to label the pieces and I’m thinking I will do this again as it made it so much easier! 

Tuesday was time to show off my Moneta,  this is probably my most favourite dress I’ve ever made. I’ve blogged about it here so click for more pictures. 

We spent the day pottering around the coast,  mainly Seahouses. I had Kyle take lots of pictures of my lovely new dress and we pottered around having a lovely time. The fabric is a gorgeous Galaxy Print jersey from Fabric Styles

Wednesday I wore my new Yellow Needlecord Skirt which was make using Simplicity 6346. I really love this nice bright skirt. I wore it on a trip over the hills and in the countryside. It was a bit nippy but this kept me looking bright and cheerful. 

I’ve blogged about this and how I based it on a designer skirt,  if you’d like to see more windy pictures click here. 

Thursday was Storm Doris day so we had a quick trip out to Barter Books to get reading materials and picked up some supplies and then returned to the cottage and battened down the hatches. 

I picked up this copy of Twinkle Sews by Wenlan Chia, who has a designer clothing company in New York. It was second hand so it cost me £5 but you can get it on Amazon, it’s got some really inspiration pictures and comes with a CD with PDF patterns on it. I’m going to try something from it soon, there’s a pretty cool sweatshirt in there. Anyway,  that was me entertained during the storm!. 

Friday we had a cup of tea and a walk round Bamburgh and the beach. I wore my second moneta, which is how I think of her sadly, as I don’t think she is as good as my Galaxy Print one. She has made an appearance on my Moneta blog post though. 

Saturday was going home day, so donning my Hogwarts Hoodie we came home… I’ve had a great week though. 

We were straight back into work on Monday so there’s not been much sewing for me, sadly but weekend’s a-coming and it’s set to be a chilly one so we can all guess what I’ll be doing!! 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the photos – thanks for sharing your holiday. You got your hands on some lovely fabrics and made some lovely dresses – I do love the galaxy and the elephants!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I’m really pleased with them in particular and love the pattern so much that I’ve just bought a grey/purpley to repeat it!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. norma says:

    Your me mades are pretty extensive and well shown off in the Northumberland scenery.
    I joined Me Made May & Self Stiched September. That really got me moving with the idea of a me made wardrobe

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yes I’m going to look in to that because I take things on holiday but only incorporate it when I can on a daily basis so I think that will help me to recognise what I need for work and more day-to-day!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. zoesews says:

    Brilliant round up of all your looks! can’t wait to see more me made posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, best get working on the blouse for next week then!! x

      Liked by 2 people

  4. kageymee says:

    What a lot if lovely outfits. You’re not the only one to take your sewing machine on holiday, I managed to make 6 items of clothing during my recent holiday in Scotland. Why wouldn’t you take the hobby you love in holiday?

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I do aim to have a suitcase full of garments I love! I am totally in agreement! I would do it again, I can completely see why people go on sewing retreats!!

      Like

  5. Love all of your creations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 👍 ❤️

      Like

  6. I do love your posts Em. I tried a few times to post my comment and thought it had gone and worried it had spammed your inbox loads of times, but checking now it hasn’t left any of them. Stupid hospital wifi!! Anyway, what I wanted to say was what a great post and love your round up of your handmade holiday. Soon you will be handmade everyday! Inspiring as always. Sarxx P.s hope this comment arrives else I might just scream xx

    Like

    1. I’ve got to your comment!! Thanks so much for being so lovely and supportive!! I really enjoyed doing this post! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sissy MacK says:

    I always enjoy seeing your makes, so I nominated you for a Liebster Award. https://sissymack.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/just-wow/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so nice. Thanks so much. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

