My Monetas

The Moneta Party is very much an instagram challenge but I wanted to share my versions with you. I try to stay true to my style and not join in for the sake of it,  hence why there has been no sign of a Cleo on my blog…  It just wouldn’t suit me. The Moneta however,  looked right up my street and I thought it would really flatter me so as soon as I saw the challenge on Instagram,  I was sold!

I made 2,  just because I could and also because this brilliant Galaxy Fabric arrived from fabric styles as I was cutting out my elephant print ready for my Moneta entry.

The Moneta is by Colette Patterns and is made for jersey or knit fabric. The girls who organised the challenge, Rach,  Abigail and Elle chose it because it’s so accessible and flattering. I bought the PDF version, which had 41 pages to put together (phew!) I opted for sleeves as usual; I don’t like to show my arms..

You can also get a free bundle of different collars for the Moneta from the Colette pattern website, which is great for changing it up. Though,  personally I’m not a fan of having anything too frilly.

Anyway,  let me talk you through my two gorgeous Monetas!

The Galaxy print is version 3. I made it slightly longer by extending the skirt pieces by 3 inches and shortened the three quarter length sleeves very slightly. It came together easily. I didn’t have to pattern match or anything. When gathering with the elastic this tutorial from Sew Abigail helped a lot. I’m loving the pockets too!

This was my first time using a twin needle,  I thought it would be really complicated but it wasn’t at all,  though I did do several practises, and I quite enjoyed it in the end! I used a pink and blue for a bit of a contrast.

I wore it whilst we were away and got Kyle to take lots of pictures on Seahouses harbour ready for my entry. It was a bit fresh so I looked like a bit of a headcase but I think the photos are worth it! I soon changed my mind and decided that this would be my Moneta Party entry. 

Bloody hell lads, look away, she’s taking all her layers off again! 

Checking out the RNLI Grace Darling

I styled it with black tights and my tan Brogues, my wrap cardi and black coat with a nice scarf,  which was a birthday present from my sister.

Being soppy isn’t my usual style but I’m so lucky to have an amazing husband to share my life with,  who will dutifully look for nice places to have pictures so he can support me and makes me laugh so much! We have such a great time together and he makes my life. 

The elephant print is again version 3 with everything as standard. I used the Peter pan collar from the free bundle and cut the fabric around the elephants so that it was a plain black and it was a disaster;  it didn’t look good at all. They were all bumpy, so I swiftly removed them,  I am getting quite good at unpicking now! I’ve included a picture of the before in the spirit of fail February though! I’ve read some comments on it around social media and most people seem to have been redrawing their collars so I might try that next time. I personally think it needs to be bigger and go to the shoulder seams.

Other than this it was super easy to put together but my needle did not like going over any parts where an elephant was printed. I made life even simpler on myself by zig-zagging the hems rather than the double needle because I wanted a different feature (read:because I couldn’t be bothered to change my needle) I had also already decided that I was going to use my other as my entry. 

I should have considered the placement of the elephants a little bit more because there’s a few places where it looks a little strange but that’s a lesson for another day! 

Random ele-foot!

I am still happy with it overall and will wear it but I’m glad I made 2 so I could change my mind about my Moneta entry! I wore this on a visit to Bamburgh village on a beautiful day. The castle is so majestic and the place has so many happy memories for us. 

You’ll wait forever for a bus up here!

I can safely say that I absolutely recommend a Moneta,  especially if you’re curvy. A lot of the others I’ve seen appear to have a lower waist line so I think when I make another I’ll lengthen the bodice a little to account for the boobies. Otherwise this is definitely a go-er for another day- party or no party!!

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    I have enjoyed reading your post. Your dilemma about having to re thread your machine to use the twin needle is familiar to me. In fact I have recently pondered the idea of purchasing a second machine to use for the twin needle and top stitching etc Your dresses both look great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. It’s not too much trouble really but I do avoid it. If I’m doing a project that needs a lot of top stitching I have a vintage machine which a neighbour and friend gave to me, which I use alongside mine! Thanks for your comments, I appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Looking good Emma! And considering you didn’t think about pattern placement with you elephants, you nailed the bodice for sure. Love you galaxy fabric too.
    Fit looks perfect!
    And here’s to wonderful kind husbands who take good photos ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Naomi. I’m so pleased with this dress for a good fit for me and my body shape. I am definitely going to make more. I really dreaded sewing jersey but shouldn’t have been nervous. I know, they can be great can’t they?! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Naomi says:

        It’s good to face our fears and realise it’s not that big of a deal right?! And how good are twin needles?! 👏

        Like

      2. Absolutely brilliant! I thought you would need a special machine or a feeder but not at all. So easy and hubby bought me a set of 3 so I can do different widths. They’re great!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lesley says:

    We had a lovely holiday in Beadale – 2 villages over from Bamburgh- a fee years ago. Bloody love that part of the world! Oh and your Monetas are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We love it, we come several times a year. Thanks a lot, though it’s the perfect backdrop too, which makes them look better!!

      Like

  4. Lynsey Welch says:

    Both look great on you, love the fabrics too, I’ve not tried the pattern but I looks like it’s a winner. Super photos too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I live the pattern, highly recommended!

      Like

  5. Fiona says:

    I must say that pattern really suits you, having seen lots of versions around the traps. What a gorgeous part of the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. It’s definitely the pattern for me I think! Yes, it’s beautiful, we love it there, it’s where our hearts are!

      Like

  6. Sewingsu says:

    I like them both! Great idea using two different colours wih the twin needle on the galaxy dress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. Yes, I thought I was quite brave considering I hadnt used it before. Definitely going to do it again at some point! 😁

      Like

  7. norma says:

    You chose such fantastic fabrics for your Monetas – love them – particularly the elephants.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. Yes it was the elephants I originally bought for it but I just wish I would’ve placed them better!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Jill says:

    I love your versions of the moneta and am the same size/shape as you and have the same feelings about the Cleo ,too. I really enjoy your blog. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, that’s so nice of you. The moneta is the way to go for me, going to work on another soon! x

      Like

  9. Loving all you moneta’s – I’ve not done one yet but it’s in the pipeline!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m just working on a block colour one, which I’ve nearly finished. I fully recommend it, it’s a great pattern, really flattering and comes together quickly. Just beware the neckline, because it is scooped it can be a little wide on the shoulders, I’ve added an inch on my next one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cheers for that! Can’t wait to try, I’ve got fabric but a little wary as it’s my first knit!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was mine too but it works out really well. You just have to go for it!! x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

