Combining my favourite things! 

This is a bit of a different blog post as I’m not sharing a make with you,  I’m sharing a shop. 
Myself and Kyle visit Northumberland 5 or 6 times a year and love spending time along the coast but more recently we have been heading in land to enjoy the beautiful countryside. 

We find it so refreshing and what is more, there’s a little gem of a shop,  which I absolutely love visiting. It’s called Village Tea Room and Emporium. It’s an unassuming tea rooms, antique and fabric shop at Hedgeley services in Breamish Valley. The lady who runs it is so friendly and wants to tell you everything about the different fabrics and is really passionate. 

You can go and have a really good rummage and there are some really beautiful fabric bolts sold by the metre or some ready cut priced pieces; including a vintage section. There’s dress fabrics, home fabrics and a very small Haberdashery section. The fabrics are piled up all over so you can browse to you hearts content…  Like me! 

When I visited,  I got really lucky because she was doing a stock take and in order to clear some stock, a lot of the pieces were just £1 so I absolutely filled my boots. She even threw in a vintage Simplicity pattern, I picked up, for free! 

I was in heaven. I even got some liberty print pieces,  even though they were small,  they were ONE POUND! 

I also bought some by the metre fabric,  which she talked me through and was so friendly and nice, talking me through the origins and giving me ideas.

As we browsed (by this I mean as I ran around like a crazy woman coming short of rolling around in the fabric and Kyle followed my dutifully carrying everything I threw at him!)  she was in the corner sewing up some curtains, which just made my day! 

On top of this you can get a very reasonably priced brew and delicious homemade cake or shortbread. 

It’s not glamorous but it’s brilliant. If you ever find yourself that way you should definitely check it out. I intend to go every time I visit from now on! 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. That really sounds amazing! Vintage fabric where you can get tea? Throw in a cat and that’s literally my idea of heaven!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It really is fab. Going to try and squeeze in another visit this week. I’ll keep my eye out for a cat!! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. norma says:

    Looks like a great place.

    Like

  3. Lynsey Welch says:

    This looks like my kind of place but I am so (sooo) far away. I wish there was something similar near me. What a great job, I’d love to do that one day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so cute. Yes, obviously I can only come when we’re on holiday but I was talking to a woman who live on the Scottish Borders who says she calls in whenever she passes. Me too, I’m so Envious!! Imagine being surrounded by fabric everyday!!

      Like

  4. I totally understand the feeling of being set free in a shop like this – pure excitement! Glad you had a good time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was great! My eyes were everywhere!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lynsey333 says:

    Thank you for the tip! I’m from Northumberland, though exiled ‘down south’ most of the time, but will badger my parents to visit this shop next time I’m home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know how you could leave. We love it! No problem. It really is great to visit!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

