The Katie Dress

The Katie Dress is Pattern number Four of the Cotton and Chalk Collection from Simply Sewing Magazine. I have also made patterns OneTwo and Three. I have found them all really easy to use, though sometimes a little on the roomy side.

As the pattern suggests using a Ponte Roma for this dress, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity for me to try using this fabric so I bought some in black with really cool paint stroke style pattern on it called Serene Reeds from The Textile Centre

The fabric was so easy to sew because it doesn’t fray at all,  it is a bit bulky where the seams meet,  like on the shoulders, but otherwise it sews up so easily. I stuck with the facings (don’t think this is becoming a thing because I top-stitched it anyway!) but it makes the shape of the neckline better. You put the facings on the front panel and add the rest once the bodice is constructed, a bit strange a first but it looks neat and it’s worked! 
I constructed the rest easily. The bodice and skirt seams matched up really well,  which means I did it all right,  thank goodness!  I tried it on before I inserted the zip and realised that not only was it roomy, as I expected, but that it would go on easily without a zip. So I took an inch off each side and simply stitched straight up the back seam- easy peasy! As the fabric has stretch,  it pulls on easily. 

I’m really happy with the shape,  I have ready to wear items which are very similar in shape and I feel like it really suits my body shape. I resisted the urge to wear a belt but I think I probably will in future. 

I would like to pretend I wore it somewhere interesting but this has slotted right in to my work wardrobe, especially good as in a bid to be less boring in my fashion, I have inadvertently set myself a new years resolution to wear less plain grey and black at work, something which I’m actually sticking with somehow!

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh the neckline is lovely! I also really like your fabric, it’s absolutely not black/grey!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I’m really pleased with it. I’d make the pattern again but take it in a little at the waist next time! I do love this fabric!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. norma says:

    I love that you didn’t have to put the zip in – zips are my bete noire.

    Like

    1. I am getting better at them and would’ve put one in if I needed too but, any excuse! A much quicker sew for it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the fabric! The shape is great too. You look lovely in it whether you are going to a party or work!

    Like

  4. Ella says:

    I adore the fabric, it is really cool. And the cut of the bodice looks stunning πŸ™‚ Very beautiful dress ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I am pleased with it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This has turned out beautifully. Gorgeous fabric πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I do love the fabric. I may even wear it tomorrow!!

      Like

  6. Julie says:

    I love it..I’ve never tried a neckline like that, but I think I have to try. Love that fabric..nice with the blue sweater also.

    Like

    1. The neckline worked better than I thought it would. The facing was odd because it is done a section at a time. Thanks so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

