Statement Collar Vintage Blouse 

I have been enjoying stitching up some modern patterns recently like My Sew Over It Ultimate Shift Dress and My Simplicity Christmas Dress but I fancied going back in time to some more vintage makes so I had Vintage Butterick 5601 dated 1969 in my stash. It has a blouse,  jacket,  trousers and skirt within it but I was eyeing up the blouse,  which has a proper statement collar!

img_9371

I made no changes or adaptations to the sizing of the pattern, considering it is a vintage, although it is a bit snug at the hip. There are lots of darts,  which I quite enjoyed putting in. The fabric is a thicker,  floral purple chiffon from my local market and was surprisingly easy to handle.

DSC_0415.JPG

 I shortened the sleeves as I didn’t want to have the big puffy ones the picture shows. I also used binding instead of facing, which I do as much as I can get away with,  though I have started making friends with facings more recently!

dsc_0418

I love the fact that it is a zip back blouse instead of a button front.

dsc_0417

dsc_0416

And I absolutely love the collar, it’s like a pussy bow blouse but really chunky so it looks more like a cravat. It’s fab.

dsc_0414dsc_0413

I haven’t had chance to wear it yet but I’ll post some pictures on instagram @emmaandhermachine and twitter @emmasmachine when I get chance to!

_20170118_193313

Leave a Reply

