Mini Dungaree Dress

A couple of months a go (Sew Saturday in October) I bought some of the Michael Miller Magic fabric range with the intention of making a dress for my niece. I love this range, the fabrics are so pretty and bright; perfect for little girls. The lovely lady in the shop told me a metre would do one of the pillow case type dresses you see for little ones but I wanted to try something different.

She loved the dungaree set I made in October so I decided to make one similar but draft it myself… I used a circle skirt pattern by I Think Sew because I didn’t feel confident drafting one myself after my last one didn’t fit. I did draft the waist band though as I wanted to put elastic in the back to make it child friendly and comfy.  I measured her waist… and her height and her head and everything else she insisted I measured whilst I was at it. I’m 168cm if you’re interested! I then added 4 inches extra to the measurement needed for the back piece to allow for the elastic and gathered the skirt slightly to fit.

I then used the Sunday Set pattern by Cotton and Chalk to draft a tiny version of the top half and the straps. I was going to do a pocket but I literally used all this fabric!

It all came together nicely. I used French seams as I wanted it to last and everything else was stitched right sides together and then top stitched once turned out. I hate hemming circle skirts though so I made a binding out of the tiny bit of fabric I had left so I had a neat finish.

I finished it off with some bright green buttons,  anything pastel just seemed too blah… I added some buttons holes and I was done. I think it is the cutest thing in the whole world and I wrapped it with some white tights…  It’s winter after all.

She loved it and wore it to our Boxing Day party, gorgeous or what?! She’s easily my favourite model! 

dsc_0198.jpgdsc_0199.jpgdsc_0200.jpgdsc_0203.jpg

Sorry for the Christmas themed pictures but I needed to share this… It’s just so sweet! 

Leave a Reply

