Mum’s Ultimate Shift Dress

After watching many YouTube vlogs by Lisa Comfort of Sew Over It,  I was sold on trying out the ultimate shift dress. She says it’s great for stiffer fabric and also fabrics with big prints so I bought some lovely grey with white lillies,  which is more of an upholstery fabric but I just love the colour and thought it would make a really grown up and smart shift dress for my Mum for Christmas

I feel really proud of this make for a few reasons, one because it all came together so well, all the notches lined up and I didn’t have to make any changes.

Two because it was the first time that I have really flown through a pattern and the instructions without having to look things up or getting confused,  which I think shows how much I am improving; all the practise is paying off!

Thirdly, look at my fabulous facings…  I wanted to try them as I know the shift dress has quite a smooth look and I didn’t want to ruin it by using binding.   This is quite literally the first time facings have EVER worked for me.  They sit nice,  they pressed nicely and they joined really well at the split in the back. I don’t know if this is because the pattern is fab, the fabric was so easy to work with or because I’m just getting better,  either way, I’m chuffed to bits with my little shelf!

That’s all there really is to say about the dress,  which has a really simple construction. I intend to try a top version of it, possibly in a light denim I’ve just gifted myself for Christmas. I have also just bought some ponte roma with poppies along the edge so I can try using a fabric with design for my next try at this so watch this space!..

My Mum loves it, she said it is really smart and she is going to wear it when we go to see Chitty Chitty Bang Bang in January! (our gift from my sister- exciting!)

dsc_0163.jpgdsc_0166.jpgdsc_0162.jpg

The back lined up great too, I managed to keep the pattern direction going.

dsc_0164.jpgdsc_0168.jpg

I also put this lovely, cute little ‘made with love’ label in.

img_20161222_180931_075.jpg

 

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

