A plethora of pressies.

I don’t really think doing a round up of my blogging year will be worth it as I only started in September but I’m loving it and hope to continue. I’m offering a quick round up of my handmade presents instead. 
I love, love, love Christmas! I usually start thinking about it pretty much as soon as I get back to school in September. Therefore, I’ve spent the last few months sewing and making pressies for my amazing family without being able to blog about them or show anyone.

So here is a round up of this year’s pressies:

Personalised Calendars: I found this fab photo calendar template from It’s Always Autumn and set about making it pretty much as soon as it was released. I did one for my husband and one for my Mum, using lots of fun pictures and trying to roughly match them to months. So simple and super smart looking.

Patchwork Infinity Scarf: This was something I wanted to try for a while. I made gorgeous infinity scarves for my Sister-in-law and cousin following the Patricia Infinity Cowl Tutorial.

In the tutorial she uses fat quarters but a few of the pieces I wanted to use were fat eighths so I matched up some fat quarters and just cut those in half. It’s a simple but really effective make, which allows you to chose different fabrics to clash and compliment each other. As I made this for Jade, I was thinking of her style and colouring as I put it together. My cousin LOVES foxes so I got some super cute Fox fabric for hers.

Cork Christmas Tree: last year I made my Mum a Christmas tree from wine corks. My sister loved it so much that she asked me to do her one. The pair of us collected corks all year (such a hardship!) and I used a polystyrene cone and my trusty glue gun to stick them all in place. I then glued some red beads to add to the festive feel. If you wanted to make something like this start saving NOW. I’ve used 41 corks and it’s only a small cone!

I also made a fab book Christmas tree for myself,  which was so easy to make and used the inside of my Pride and Prejudice I used to make a book clutch earlier in the year.

Recipe Tea Towel: I shared this make back in November but it’s so cute, I thought it was worth a mention. It’s a tea towel made using a hand written recipe and a patch work binding for my Dad and his wife.

sam_2726

Graces Pyjamas: I made these Sew Simplicity Children’s pyjamas for my niece in a super cute pink gingham. I made two at the same time and customised them using  pockets, buttons and iron on letters. The patterns as super easy to use. For more on these click here.

sam_2748

Hot Water Bottle Cover: I bought some super soft grey faux fur fabric to make the hot water bottle cover that was in Issue 23 of Simply Sewing Mag. I used a purple cotton with lavender print for the stag’s head applique. This was a really quick sew but messy, furry fabric malts like crazy as you sew it. It’s a lovely, snuggly gift for my mother-in-law though.

Overture Set: I made this Dress for my sister; it’s the Overture set from Issue 20 of Simple Sewing Magazine,  the style is very her.  I love that I’ve been able to make her something proper to wear, it was a complex make and I will blog about it soon. 

Shirt for My Brother: This was easily my most complex and proudest make ever. I loved giving a present that I knew I had really put blood, sweat and tears in to. For more information on the complexities: click here.

Ultimate Shift Dress: I made this Shift Dress for my Mum. It is so smart and fits her a treat.  I loved working with this pattern and was really pleased to make something personal for my wonderful Mum. I’ll blog about this (and a selfish make shift dress) soon. 

Mini Dungaree Dress: I self-drafted a Dungaree dress for my niece using some beautiful mermaid fabric by Michael Miller, she looked so cute in it.  Making small clothes is so quick and easy.  She’s always guaranteed a home-made pressie! I’ll blog about this soon too! 

I also make some more PJ bottoms,  some in red poppy for my friend and some in blue checked brushed cotton for my father-in-law, who has put an order in for more! 
I think that’s it for my round up of Christmas presents. I’ve really enjoyed giving my family the things I have made and everyone has been so lovely and pleased to receive their gifts. It was stressful though, especially the shirt…  Best start on next year’s now. Happy New Year everybody!! 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

