Mini PJs for a Mini girl

I know most of us are in that Christmas stage where we don’t know what day it is but it is Friday,  so even though time off means more posts from me,  here’s my weekly Friday one!

Some time in October I acquired quite a lengthy amount of pink gingham cotton. My sister-in-law and I were talking about how it reminded us of the cutest little PJs that my niece, Grace, had when she was tiny. So, I couldn’t not replicate them. Luckily for me there was a sale on a simplicity so I bought this girls and boys pyjamas pattern (1575). The pattern starts at aged 7 and goes up to 14, Grace is only 5 but nearly 6 and rather tall!

I decided to cut two lots out at the the same time, because you can’t get enough PJs when you’re 5! I just made one set of sleeves shorter and customised them to make them individual, as you will see. I wanted traditional, hence the button up style PJs but I was concerned because I’ve never done a button-up shirt before. I needn’t have worried though, the pattern was so easy to use.

I read through the instructions first and decided to scrap the facings and I used a bright pink binding on one and just hemmed the other and used the binding on the back neckline. The tops went together so easily and I chain stitched through the two in no time. There was a brilliant button guide pattern piece that made the buttons really easy to do.

The trousers came as all in one leg pieces and were so simple for it, they literally took me 15 minutes. I did have to wing the elastic waist measurement slightly though, as said child was not on hand!

sam_2748

So that was it for construction, but I had so much fun customising these. Obviously I used a bright pink bias binding so they look interesting straight away. I put a pocket on one with a cute bit of white ric rac. I wanted these to be more traditional so I used pink buttons and left it at that, apart from this cute label I hand stitched for the inside.

sam_2779sam_2756sam_2752

The second pair have a shorter sleeve, I bought these iron on letters from Drift in Seahouses ages a go and have been waiting for something to put them on and I’m so pleased they go really well and look great! I used yellow buttons on this too as a contrast.

sam_2778sam_2759sam_2758

I love that I have been able to make these PJs personalised for Grace. She wore them on Christmas Eve and her Mum was made up with them! They are a little big but that only means she’ll be in them longer, which doesn’t happen with anything these days!

dsc_0133.jpg

dsc_0150.jpgdsc_0151.jpg

She’s the perfect little model! AND… we bought her a sewing machine for Christmas! Can’t wait to have a go at this with her! She was so excited!

I hope everyone has a Happy New Year and best wishes for success and happiness in 2017. Only a few more Christmas pressies to share in 2017 and then normal service will resume!! 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

