Christmas Par-Tea Dress

So, this is my second blog in 2 days because I got published in Sew Magazine! I’m so excited! It’s a bookazine called Sew Style: Stitch Your Size and comes with 3 Butterick Patterns.

article-from-postive-bloggers-2016-me-on-it1
So Exciting!

Anyway, today’s blog offering is the Simple Sew English Tea Dress. I wanted a black dress for the Christmas Party, which I could customise and make nice and Christmassy with this beautiful gold trim  – note, I can’t actually go to my Christmas Party so I actually joined my sister-in-laws!

I bought a lovely, drapey black viscose dress fabric from the local market and 2 metres of it just covered this dress (luckily I wanted to have a go at the little fluttery sleeves that are featured anyway!).
The pattern came together quite quicky, there’s darts in both the front and the back pieces which gives it a really nice shape. I stuck with the facings for this and soon remembered why I usually avoid them. They just don’t sit right… As this was my Christmas dress I used gold ribbon as a binding on the facings before sewing them in place. As usual, they were far too eager to pop out so I settled for some tacking stitches at my shoulders and moved on.

I thought that would be my mission complete,  however it was too tight on the chest… Not unheard of, sadly. So in my determination, I opened up the side seams and inserted a triangular panel at both sides to give me a bit more room. This makes the shape of the sleeves look a little more wide but I don’t think that’s a bad thing.

I had left the dress very last minute, I’ve had it cut out for ages but the party date just crept up on me! Anyway, because I was rushing slightly, I didn’t have a long zip so I had to use a 9 inch one… luckily I had cut the back piece on the fold; it meant I didn’t have to cut in in half to insert a zip. and it does make it look smoother. It does mean I have to wiggle in to it a bit but it’s no big deal.

The picture on the pattern shows a V-shaped dip at the waist but I found the pattern doesn’t allow for this as much as it suggests. I inserted the cute little tulip shaped sleeves (it comes with 3 options) and then hemmed it, which was an absolute nightmare; it seemed to press nicely and then it stretched and went wonky as I was stitching. Luckily I was adding my gorgeous gold trim to the bottom so I wasn’t too stressed about it…  I think I would have done some unpicking otherwise.
Anyway,  I pinned and sewed the trim along the hem with the design slightly overlapping the edge. I toyed with the idea of adding the trim elsewhere and pinned it along the neck and the waist to try it but decided against it in the end…  I think my hubby’s words were ‘you have issues with simple being better don’t you?’ I do think it looks effective and more classy and not too OTT this way.

I styled in with black tights and these gorgeous festive gold T-bar shoes… Another reason I didn’t go mad with gold trim- I knew I had gold accessories!
The party was a mardi-gras theme and my sister-in-law and I went all out and had my lovely friend Ann do our make-up professionally.

I felt really glam and was so pleased to be wearing something I made when I didn’t even know how to sew clothes this time last year. Also, just to add, I borrowed my friends chopstick curlers and oh my God,  I’m in hair love!
We had a fab time and danced the night away! I even bagged myself a matching gold mask, which  has since made it’s way on to my Christmas tree!!

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Just wanted to say – I’m so embarrassed – I was at Monthly Stitch and didn’t recognize you – gorgeous hair and no glasses – then I was led to your website and recognized you. Beautiful dress, hair, makeup, the works!

    Like

    1. Aww that’s so kind, thanks so much Linda. As you know, I don’t usually look like that, it’s thanks to my friend who did my make up and my contact lenses! I felt very glam but it isn’t my usual style! I don’t usually take too long on my make-up! I am considering putting some chopstick curlers on my Christmas list though!!x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m the same. A Big Day is when I do my hair!

        Like

  2. Lynsey Welch says:

    Lovely dress, the trim looks great and you look fab, love the shoes too.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I love it, just need an excuse to wear it again now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

