Sewing, the gift that keeps on giving…

I’ve had a little unexpected surprise that I’d like to share… I met my hubby at his parents house tonight and they were all looking very suspicious, excited and grinning at me in a strange way. I was ordered to close my eyes and when I opened them…. This was waiting for me…

basket-and-tin-joan

I gave a strange grin right back at them… erm… ‘what is it?’

sam_2783

THIS is what it is! Exciting or what?! Let me explain…

Kyle’s Nan no longer uses any of her sewing things, she was an avid knitter but is no longer able to sew as she once did. Kyle’s family very kindly thought of me and wanted me to have her sewing things. I’m so thankful, moved and flattered by this as there’s lots of little bits that I’m sure have some good memories for my mother-in-law and her sisters. It’s a real inheritance for me and something I’ll cherish. It’s the things like this that make sewing so special as when you use the things you were given, it makes anything you make extra special and nostalgic. So… overall a very happy sewer here!

All neatly packed away and kept were some vintage pinking shears and scissors, and a knitting equipment kit. Joan was a knitter so there are lots of little pearlised buttons for baby cardigans but also some really cool gold coloured buttons. I love the way it is all so organised, I think it really sums up that generation. There are lots of little boxes and tupperwares with buttons and safety pins; everything seems to have a place. She has bags buttons, tied with matching wool and a big needle, ready to go on her completed knits. Obviously, there are lots of threads for me to dive in to as well and also a huge bag of elastics and various bindings.

I absolutely love the retro Royal wedding tin, so very British Nan and it is full of threads. Every family I know had one of these as we were little but things like this don’t seem to survive anymore and I think it’s so nostalgic. The threads look like jewels; a proper box of treasure.

There’s also a little popper mechanism which is packed neatly in this little box, which I also love.

wilds-ashton

Kyle is originally from Ashton and Katherine Street it still there – though no shops like this anymore, unfortunately. I love to see traditional old embossing and professional shop memorabilia like this from when packaging was quality and not ‘throw-away’, especially when people remember it and it means something. After investigations with Kyle’s other Nan, I discovered that Wild’s was once a jewellers… when Joan came to replace a nice pair of earrings with poppers, I will never know!

Lastly, but not least, is this beautiful metal, antique thimble. The detail in the metal is so gorgeous and I feel very privileged to own it.

It makes me want to sew RIGHT NOW!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lesley says:

    I inherited my Grandma’s sewing stuff too and am now the proud owner of a very Royal button tin with pictures of HRH Elizabeth and a Knitting needle tin with Prince Charles and Diana. Gotta love a bit of regal memorabilia!

    Like

    1. Completely, I’m not in to all the plates and strange things you find with them on but boxes like this were made for buttons!!

      Like

  2. You are so BLESSED to get such beautiful things!

    Like

    1. I know, I feel very grateful. Already used a couple of the buttons on a pinafore dress for my niece! So much more meaningful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

