My Sister’s Top

Read the title as you will folks! The observant amongst you will notice that the girl in the picture isn’t me… though she does look rather like me… it is, of course, my sister. So I have myself a new model, which is the stipulation if I make anyone anything!

I wanted something I had made for her birthday, even though I had some gorgeous hand-made earrings I bought up in Northumberland. So I decided to put another New Look 6483 one hour top together. Which I’ve made previously here and here, amongst others. I wanted to change it up a little so I’ve hacked it a bit.

I took the back piece and added a couple of inches to the fold edge and cut 2 back pieces. I then put the t-shirt together as normal, using a green contrast bias binding. I then edged the 2 back pieces in the binding as I wanted to create an open back, which you see a lot in the shops at the minute.

received_10154029244636200_kindlephoto-148552609

Rather than just sew the top of the back pieces together I made button holes and put 3 buttons to hold it together, I used green buttons here too. I think it’s so cute and Rach loves it too and was a brilliant blog model. A simple hack, which I definitely recommend, especially is you have broad shoulders and/or chest like me and my sister!

received_10154029244781200_kindlephoto-148133146received_10154029244716200received_10154029244571200received_10154029244546200received_10154029244511200

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Looking good! I have a sister I sew for too. It’s fun to sew up something that’s not necessarily what I would choose – as we all have different tastes. Nice work!

    Like

    1. Thanks. Definitely. We’re quite similar in shape, though she is smaller, so I can work with a shape I know- but our tastes could not be more different!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

