Recipe Tea Towel

This week’s make is a selfless sew, it may seem a bit early to be sharing Christmas makes but let me explain. My Dad and his wife, Therese live in Cyprus and I don’t always get round to sending Christmas presents, however, my Dad is coming to visit next week and in the spirit of Christmas, I wanted to send him home with something.

So… I saw this tutorial for recipe tea towels on pinterest, I glanced over it and I’ve blatantly used the idea but I didn’t actually follow the tutorial if I’m honest.

I used a recipe that Therese wrote down for me 9 whole years ago, when I was just 19 (gulp!) and I went to visit. I scanned it, enlarged it and printed it on to transfer paper. I ironed it on a thick white polyester and cut a border round it using a ruler and rotary cutter. I cut a second piece out in the same size for the backing.

sam_2722

I raided my scraps and made a patchwork binding using lots of different colours and sizes. I just went for the anything goes approach with this and cut random, rough sizes which I chain-stitched together and then cut with a rotary cutter once I had a long strip. I snipped the seams as close as I could and ironed. Easy! This was such a relaxing process, done in my front room watching Harry Potter. I’ll definitely prepare some more of this at some point. It’s really effective and fun!

I tacked the two pieces of white fabric together and attached the binding like you would a quilt and ta-dah! A super cute (rustic) but personal tea towel, which I’m hoping they will love. (Is it wrong that there’s a small part of my hoping it doesn’t actually get used as a tea towel?! It’s saying ‘Please don’t wipe your pots on all my hard work!’)

sam_2726sam_2723sam_2721sam_2727sam_2725

I wrapped it ready to go in this funky word search paper which you can customise from Something Turquoise. I think this makes a really sweet gift and have prepared some for other pressies ready for some hard-core Christmas wrapping sessions!

sam_2731sam_2732

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

