Self-drafted Daisy Skirt

Please note that when I say ‘self-drafted’, it makes me sound very professional, what I mean is ‘making it up’. Last month I went to Dublin with my Mum and my sister and managed to find a fabric shop, where I bought some silky polyester with daisies. Cute or what?received_10153756753501227

I only bought one metre but it was quite wide, I knew I wanted it for a skirt straight away. I don’t tend to buy skirt patterns as I find it easier to draft a waist band and work with that. I know it’s going to be a good fit if I measure myself (obvious I suppose).  Once I had a waist band, I cut 2 rectangles with the rest of the fabric.

Then I lay them to one side and did some research about how I wanted to shape the fabric, I wasn’t sure that pleats would work with silky fabric, so naturally, I decided to do pleats. After some very complicated maths, which looked like this..

sam_2700I went with 14 pleats of 5 cm every 10 cm. (I worked in centimetres instead of inches so I had a little more to play with.)

I measured them out and then tacked them along the top. I then added my waistband and secured it all in place.

When I tried it for fit I realised that all the sewing on the waistband must have stretched the fabric and it was too big on my waist by about 3 inches instead of the 1 inch I had left to insert my zip… So now I really was making it up!

I was simply going to trim it up and insert my zip but then I thought, why am I allowing myself to have my life controlled by zip insertions? What are my other options?

Well reader, I am here to tell you that we do not have to be ruled by zips… I went through my stash and found a buckle I had bought some time a go for another project and decided I would go with a wrap skirt. I hemmed the edges with a contrast blue ribbon and then inserted a button hole ( I realise the button doesn’t match but it’s on the inside!)

SAM_2701.JPG

Then I hand-stitched (as you can tell) this really cool buckle on. – I hate hand-stitching but it’s well worth it for things like this. I love that it picks out the yellow of the daisies but completely contrasts with the navy!

sam_2702

Anyway, next I hemmed it. I was aiming for bias binding edging but I sewed it to the wrong side… but have no fear, being as enterprising as I am, I folded it to the outside and used it as a feature. I think it looks really pretty.

Now, I know I said that I hate to hand-sew but I had a small amount of yellow ribbon which I thought would make a cute label so I hand embroidered my initials on to it whilst the hubby and I watched Ripper Street (I fully recommend it if you haven’t watched it!) And I made myself a cute little label.

SAM_2715.JPG

I wore it with tights and a black top with my trusty wrap cardigan to go for curry with my Mum and sister. I love wearing it already, it feels really feminine. It also went surprisingly well with a few things I tried too. The old clutch leg was a bit breezy whilst I was driving though as it is right on the wrap join!

sam_2713sam_2716

sam_2717
probably best not to as why the statue is headless…

sam_2718

sam_2720
how cool is this chair?!
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks so much. That’s nice to hear. Where in Italy are you?

    Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Love love love! I just love daisies so much. And well done you on your self-drafting (“making it up” is all self-drafting is you know, you even used maths and stuff too!!)

    Like

    1. Thanks Naomi. I know, they’re so cute aren’t they and I love that they’re nice and bold! I’m quite pleased because I feel it shows I’m getting my head around dimensions sewing, I wouldn’t have been able to do that a year a go!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The chair is cool but your skirt is even cooler! I love the fabric and good on you for making it up!

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot. I love the fabric too and I can’t believe how far a metre went!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

