The Betty Blouse

I’ve had this blouse cut out for a while now… the design of it requires pintucks and I have been meaning to buy a pintuck foot for some time. However, I haven’t got round to it and I was after a quick sew for a Sunday afternoon so I grabbed my pieces and used the 3 inches marked for pintucks either side of the fold to create 3 pleats instead. I saw a blouse very similar in style to this the other day so I’m on a winner I think.

SIMPLY-SEWING-NEW-PATTERN-Betty-Blouse-Top.jpg

 

received_10153956801166200_kindlephoto-151641980

The Betty BlouseΒ came with Β Issue 18 of Simply Sewing Mag and only has two pieces so this was an easy one. I used a metre of this lilac polyester I had in my stash, there was more than enough to cut my pattern and the binding. This isn’t usually my colour but I got it in a bundle and was keen to use it, I’m quite pleased with the colour now it’s finished, it’s reminds me of parma violets!

download

I also like the style of the sleeves, which are quite feminine. The only other change I made was turn to the binding to the outside rather than the inside, just for another feature but I’m not sure, does it look a bit bulky?

received_10153956801206200

I cut a size 14 in this pattern and though I am clearly not a 14, it fits so I’d recommend smaller sizes with this one. I’d also lengthen the pattern slightly if I did it again, which I will have to because I’m not happy to put the pintuck challenge to rest! I’ll maybe try a nice light chiffon next time.

received_10153956800931200received_10153956801281200received_10153956800971200

I’m surprised at how much I like the colour when it is on and I’m proud of myself for resiting the temptation to add any details!

Also I just want to give a quick shout out to my lovely sister-in-law who cut and blew my hair, all fresh and ready for my holidays!

This is going on the Northumberland suitcase for with jeans. 😊 It’s the perfect place for photos so expect to see a few more exciting makes over the half term week!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Naomi says:

    Very cute. Great detail and good hack!

    Like

    1. Thanks Naomi. A bit lazy I suppose but it all worked out!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

