Mum’s Birthday Pressie

I have recently made this top for my Mum, for her birthday. (New Look K 6483) The pattern claims to take one hour* with an asterisk, the small print being that this should be sewing time. However, it took me more like two and a half* 1.because I’m so novice, 2.because I wanted my binding to be the neatest in the world and 3.because I inserted and unpacked an entire sleeve! Major sulk at this point.

SAM_2445_kindlephoto-179898071

Though possibly not the most seasonally appropriate (I was going to put sleeves in but it seemed the bunch round the neck- a common problem for me- so I left them out) I still think it’s really sweet and will really suit my Mum.

SAM_2446_kindlephoto-179955214.jpg

This is my first venture in to making a clothing gift for someone, my lovely Mum being the perfect candidate. It means that you put so much more in to it but this is something I’m trying to do with all my makes anyway. It was tricky though because she couldn’t try it on along the way and I just had to hope it would fit. I got so jealous of the way it turned out though that I made myself this top following the same pattern. Then because it’s so easy, I made this cute chiffon top, ready for Dublin too!

I did this super cute contrast binding, which I love.

SAM_2450.JPG

I feel like this is a genuine proud moment for my little label!

I also used the binding on the side slits, another first, so I’m glad they turned out so neat.

SAM_2451

Although the pattern didn’t call for it I also added a little zip for another feature and just in case it was needed.

SAM_2452

She loved it and said she could see all the work that has gone in to it. I’m really pleased my first hand-made clothing gift was so well received!

received_10153755475356227_kindlephoto-110715981

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Naomi says:

    Lovely! And how nice it was so well received.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I know, love giving gifts anyway but this was even better. It’ll be sewing mad from now until Xmas!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

