Red House Skirt

I am so excited to have discovered a local fabric shop,  All Fabrics in Staylbridge. On a recent visit I bought this gorgeous red cotton with little houses printed on it (Mori Girls 1148 by Jilly P for Dashwood Studios) It’s so cute!

MORI-1148

At the risk of appearing like a one trick pony, I knew I wanted to make a skirt with this. It wasn’t wide enough for a circle skirt so I wanted to aim for a pleated skirt. I followed this tutorial by It’s Always Autumn. Even though she does it in a knit, I followed the same principle for the cotton and added a zip as I knew it wouldn’t stretch.

SAM_2481

The tutorial was a huge help and then I was able to construct it without further research. I cut my fabric 10 inches bigger than my waist band and made 4 x 2.5 inch pleats, which I measured out. I basted it and added it to the waist band. Unlike this skirt, I was able to stitch in ditch on this waist band and, wow, it’s neat! (doing a little chuffed with myself dance!)

SAM_2473
Lovely neat pleats

SAM_2470

I tried it on and with help from the hubby (I say help, he actually threatened he was going to put the pins in his eyes) we chose and pinned a length at my knee to modernise it and counteract the frumpiness the pleats bring. I just did a standard hem.

It’s so neat inside too!

SAM_2475

I wore this to a BBQ at my Mum’s house, to squeeze out the last on the sunshine.

I wore it with a light denim t-shirt but I think it will go with a lot of my tops. BONUS!

SAM_2479

We had champagne and strawberries, just because.

SAM_2486_kindlephoto-160240092.jpg

And I took a lot of banter about being a sewing geek as usual!

SAM_2483_kindlephoto-160118588
This is a very zoomed in pic my mum caught of me looking at my her fuchsia, which she bought when I was born. Thought it looked very bloggy!

I really feel this shows that my skill (and my patience) are coming along! I am going to add this to my Dublin wardrobe- my Mum, sister and I are going to Dublin for a weekend in 3 weeks and my aim is to take a me-made wardrobe as much as I can!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely, fun skirt – and far from frumpy!

    Like

    1. It was quite long at first and with the pleats I thought it looked a bit old fashioned but thanks so much. You’ve made my day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

