Boring Black T… I think not

After making a New Look K 6483 top for my Mum (blog to come post birthday), I was a little jealous as it went so well. So I decided to make my own. I had some black four way stretch fabric which I got in a bundle from Abakhan. I wanted to try and sew with stretch and thought this would be ideal (it’s like fabric you’d wear for gym wear only thicker) but I thought it would look smart. I already know the pattern comes together great and fits pretty much from the pattern so I was away.

So, here it is- my boring black T-shirt.

SAM_2454_kindlephoto-160162257

Now, you may have guessed by now that it is not as boring as I am making out. After arguing with myself (quite aggressively I might add) about my need to add details because I am making it, wondering why I can’t be happy to throw together a plain top; I toyed with the idea of adding a ruffle at the neckline, or a contrast colour for the back, before settling on this chunky, visible zip.

SAM_2455_kindlephoto-160189488.jpg

I am happy with this decision, I think it adds detail without being OTT. It looks modern and it a great wardrobe staple, don’t you think?

And because I struggled to leave it there… look.

SAM_2460.JPG

I had a stretch orange/red in the same bundle which I used to hem my t-shirt, just to placate my need for detail! I love little inside details like this.

I expect to be getting lots of wear out of it. It goes really well with this skirt.

SAM_2490

SAM_2489_kindlephoto-179013324
Happy with my somewhat detailed t-shirt!

SAM_2492_kindlephoto-179042492

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

